My Place - Series 1


My Place is the story of one spot in Australia, told by the children who lived there over 130 years, starting in 2008 and going back to 1888.

Thirteen children, all with a talent for some kind of trouble. Each living in the very same spot, each hiding up the very same fig tree, each with an adventure to tell. 


Episode 1
2008: Laura
Laura borrows a tinnie to muck about in the canal. It sinks, taking with it the ashes of its owner's beloved dog. She can't find a way to own up. It's 2008 and the Prime Minister is trying to do the same thing with her mob.

Episode 2
1998: Mohammed
Mohammed is a mad keen bowler, and is desperate to join the cricket team at his new school. But there are no places and so he ends up playing with the girls - who prove to be the better side.

Episode 3
1988: Lily
Lily's cousin, Phoung, arrives with her parents from Vietnam. But the trophy cousin turns out to be a real threat to Lily's status, at home and at school.

Episode 4
1978: Mike
Mike knows a lot about Australian muscle cars from 1968 to 1978, but the other kids think he's odd and he thinks he's only got one friend, Ben. But is Ben a real friend?

Episode 5
1968: Sofia
Sofia is a spy for the yayas, and she's determined to get rid of her brother's (Michaelis) girlfriend, before Michaelis leaves for Vietnam.

Episode 6
1958: Michaelis
Michaelis' family is from Kalymnos. He wants to be Australian, not Greek, but even more he wants a television - so he can watch Zorro.

Episode 7
1948: Jen
Jen's dad died in the war. Now, her mum is planning to marry Wal, who (even though he has a car), definitely doesn't match up in Jen's eyes to her war hero - her real dad.

Episode 8
1938: Colum
Colum has two big ambitions; to stop his best mate Thommo's family from being kicked out of their house next door to his, and to get up the nerve to ride his billy cart down Brickpits Hill.

Episode 9
1928: Bridie
Bridie and Lorna are the best of friends. Wheeling their baby brothers in their prams and with Bridie's annoying younger sister, Kath, in tow, they set off on a day of harmless relaxation.

Episode 10
1918: Bertie
Bertie is doing all that he can, including putting on a magic show, to save the money to buy a special gift to welcome his brother, Eddie, home from the war. It's a pair of brown brogue shoes.

Episode 11
1908: Evelyn

Evelyn can't wait for cracker night. This year, for the first time, her father has been able to afford to buy the family their own box of fireworks. Unfortunately, Evelyn shows the box to her disbelieving neighbour, Freddie.

Episode 12
1898: Rowley
Rowley longs for his father to come home. Convinced that good deeds will be rewarded, he'll do anything to help his mother and the other residents in the boarding house they live in. But then he discovers that his father may never come home at all.

Episode 13
1888: Victoria

Victoria and her family have just moved into the terrace house that her father has built. She'll do anything to ensure that they stay there forever, including witchcraft.

Video Clips

My Place - Series Trailer


Contact Sales Team

Running Time
13 x 24 mins

Production Company
Matchbox Pictures Pty Ltd


Drama, Live Action


2011 KidScreen Awards
Winner: Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series

2010 TV Week Logie Awards
Winner: Most Outstanding Children’s Program

2010 Banff World Television Awards
Nominated (Episode 11): Rockie Award - Children Family and Youth

2010 ATOM Awards
Winner: Best Children’s Television Production

2010 AFI Awards
Winner: Best Children’s Television Drama Series


Available in HD