ACTF News
content

Final chance to register for virtual learning events

Our two upcoming live events will build primary school students’ understandings of story and character on screen.

Character, story and animated worlds in L’il Elvis Jones and the Truckstoppers

In this free webinar presented by the ACTF and Bendigo Art Gallery, students will discover the importance of building story, characters and worlds when creating an animated television show. We will go behind-the-scenes of the show’s development and see original illustrations and animation cells and speak to Li’l Elvis Jones and the Truckstoppers’ creator Peter Viska. 

Session details

Date: Wednesday, 15 June 2022

Times: 2pm (AEST), 12pm (AWST), 1:30pm (ACST), 12:45pm (ACWST)

Duration: 45 min

Year levels: 4 - 6

Register here.

Light and colour: The power to create and influence mood

During this free ACTF x ACMI virtual workshop, students discover the importance of light and colour from animated episodes that brighten our world! Foundation- Year 2 students will learn that light and colour are storytelling tools, and consider the decisions behind happy, scary, funny, and sad moments on screen. Drawing and kinetic pose activities in the workshop will bring students along as active participants.

Session Details

Date: Friday, 17 June 2022

Times: 12pm (AEST), 10am (AWST), 10:30am (ACWST), 11:30am (ACST)

Duration: 30 minutes

Year levels: F-2

Register here.

See also:

August 1st 2022

Academy Award winner Shaun Tan’s Tales from Outer Suburbia to be adapted for television

The Oscar-winning team behind The Lost Thing, Shaun Tan and producer Sophie Byrne, has joined forces with Barbara Stephen and Alexia Gates-Foale from animation studio Flying Bark Productions to develop an animated series based on Shaun’s bestselling illustrated book Tales from Outer Suburbia.

August 1st 2022

Record ACTF investment into new children’s content

The Australian Children’s Television Foundation (ACTF) has committed a record $9.6 million to the development and production of new children’s content since receiving additional funding.

July 27th 2022

New resource supports teachers to explore consent and identity in the classroom

Secondary teachers across Australia now have access to a new resource to safely explore challenging topics with teenage students, including consent and respectful relationships.

July 26th 2022

Virtual workshop recordings now live

During Term 2, the ACTF learning team delivered two live virtual workshops exploring the impact of light and colour in television series and a behind-the-scenes look at the series Li'l Elvis Jones and the Truckstoppers. These recordings and resources are now available to view and explore on our website.

July 20th 2022

Series spotlight: The Genie from Down Under

As part of the ACTF’s 40-year anniversary celebrations, we’re looking back and shining a spotlight on 12 of our most iconic programs. In this article, we look back on The Genie from Down Under: a quintessentially Australian, one-of-a-kind comedy series.

Search ACTF

No results