September 29th 2020


2020 AWGIE Children’s Nominees Announced

A series of talented Australian children’s television writers have been nominated for the 53rd annual AWGIE Awards. 

In the “Children’s Television – ‘P’ Classification (Preschool – Under 5 Years), Original or Adapted, Animated or Performed” category, the three nominees are from Little J and Big Cuz – Series 2’s writing team. Dorothy West is nominated for “Episode 1: Desert Camp”, Beck Cole for “Episode 13: Finding Home” and Erica Glynn for “Episode 10: Goodbye Swooper”.

Writers pinned for the “Children’s Television – ‘C’ Classification (Children’s – 5-14 Years), Original or Adapted, Animated or Performed” prize include Mustangs FC – Series 3’s Alix Beane for “Episode 2: Level Up” and Magda Wozniak for “Episode 13: Mustangs Forever and Ever”, and The New Legends of Monkey – Season 2’s Connor and Christiaan Van Vuuren, nominated for “Episode 2: Quest for Knowledge” and “Episode 10: Shadow Boxing” respectively.

In the “Animation” category, the Space Nova team received two nominations: Charlotte Rose Hamlyn for “Black Hamster” and Thomas Duncan-Watt for “Ghost Station”. Joining them is Kitty is Not A Cat – Season 2’s Raymond Boseley for episode “Cats Eye-Q” and Alien TV’s Simon Dodd for the episode “Barbecue”.

The AWGIE Awards recognise excellence in writing for stage and screen. The awards are given by writers to writers, judged solely on the written script. Winners will be announced in an online ceremony broadcast on Tuesday December 8. The broadcast will be free to watch, with tickets available in late October.

The ACTF congratulates all the AWGIE nominees and wishes them the best of luck for the upcoming ceremony.

See also:

December 4th 2023

Resources to support Term 1 swimming lessons

Two free learning resources created for junior primary students will help teachers educate Foundation to Year 2 students on water safety through the popular animated television series, Kangaroo Beach.

December 4th 2023

Top 5 education resources

We've rounded up the five most viewed ACTF education resources for Term 4. Could these popular resources be used to support student learning in your 2024 class?

November 27th 2023

Built to Survive wins International Emmy Award

Australian natural history series Built to Survive has won the 2023 International Emmy Award for Kids: Factual & Entertainment, becoming the first ever Australian program to win in the category.

November 17th 2023

Barrumbi Kids shines on the international stage with a CICFF Award

Barrumbi Kids has been recognised for its engaging storytelling with a first prize win at the Chicago International Children’s Film Festival.

November 9th 2023

Production to commence on landmark Tales from Outer Suburbia adaptation

A television adaptation of Shaun Tan’s bestselling illustrated anthology Tales from Outer Suburbia is heading into production, thanks to major production support from the ACTF and Screen Australia in association with the ABC.

Search ACTF

No results