2020 AWGIE Children’s Nominees Announced

2020 AWGIE Children’s Nominees Announced

A series of talented Australian children’s television writers have been nominated for the 53rd annual AWGIE Awards. 

In the “Children’s Television – ‘P’ Classification (Preschool – Under 5 Years), Original or Adapted, Animated or Performed” category, the three nominees are from Little J and Big Cuz – Series 2’s writing team. Dorothy West is nominated for “Episode 1: Desert Camp”, Beck Cole for “Episode 13: Finding Home” and Erica Glynn for “Episode 10: Goodbye Swooper”.

Writers pinned for the “Children’s Television – ‘C’ Classification (Children’s – 5-14 Years), Original or Adapted, Animated or Performed” prize include Mustangs FC – Series 3’s Alix Beane for “Episode 2: Level Up” and Magda Wozniak for “Episode 13: Mustangs Forever and Ever”, and The New Legends of Monkey – Season 2’s Connor and Christiaan Van Vuuren, nominated for “Episode 2: Quest for Knowledge” and “Episode 10: Shadow Boxing” respectively.

In the “Animation” category, the Space Nova team received two nominations: Charlotte Rose Hamlyn for “Black Hamster” and Thomas Duncan-Watt for “Ghost Station”. Joining them is Kitty is Not A Cat – Season 2’s Raymond Boseley for episode “Cats Eye-Q” and Alien TV’s Simon Dodd for the episode “Barbecue”.

The AWGIE Awards recognise excellence in writing for stage and screen. The awards are given by writers to writers, judged solely on the written script. Winners will be announced in an online ceremony broadcast on Tuesday December 8. The broadcast will be free to watch, with tickets available in late October.

The ACTF congratulates all the AWGIE nominees and wishes them the best of luck for the upcoming ceremony.