December 1st 2015


AACTAs For Paper Planes And Ready For This

PICTURED: Ready for This Producer Miranda Dear, Executive Producer Bernadette O'Mahony (ACTF), Producer Joanna Werner & Script Producer Liz Doran. 

Two ACTF supported series have won awards at the 5th Annual AACTAs, hosted in Sydney on Monday night.

Teen drama series Ready for This (Blackfella Films, Werner Film Productions) received “Best Children’s Television Series”, while the feature film Paper Planes took home the award for “Best Original Screenplay" for Robert Connolly and Steve Worland.

AFI/AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella said this year’s awards were packed with a range of new, promising faces set to rise within the industry.

”Each year the AACTA Awards reminds us of the breadth of talent…tonight we recognised many first-time winners, whose careers will now enter an exciting new chapter having received the nation’s top screen accolade in front of our industry’s best,” he said.

Ready for This competed in the “Best Children’s Television Series” category alongside two other ACTF supported series, Little Lunch (Gristmill) and Nowhere Boys – Series 2  (Matchbox Pictures), with the other finalist in the children's category; the animated series, Figaro Pho (Chocolate Liberation Front).

Paper Planes received a total of five AACTA nominations including "Best Original Screenplay", "Best Sound", "Best Original Music" as well as "Best Film" and "Best Supporting Actress", which will be announced on 9th December in Sydney at the second AACTA Awards night.

See also:

August 11th 2022

‘Giving space to the voices of the past’: My Place site updated

Curator and writer Jennifer Forest has collaborated with ACTF First Nations Designer April Phillips to update content in the My Place for Teachers decade timeline, aiming to better represent diverse voices from Australia’s past. 

August 11th 2022

New resource: Writing rubrics

In response to teacher feedback received last year, the ACTF has developed writing rubrics to support students entering the 2022 My Place Competition.

August 11th 2022

Entries for the 2022 My Place Competition now open

Students are invited to submit their creative writing entries for the 2022 My Place Competition from 15 August – 16 September.

August 1st 2022

Academy Award winner Shaun Tan’s Tales from Outer Suburbia to be adapted for television

The Oscar-winning team behind The Lost Thing, Shaun Tan and producer Sophie Byrne, has joined forces with Barbara Stephen and Alexia Gates-Foale from animation studio Flying Bark Productions to develop an animated series based on Shaun’s bestselling illustrated book Tales from Outer Suburbia.

August 1st 2022

Record ACTF investment into new children’s content

The Australian Children’s Television Foundation (ACTF) has committed a record $9.6 million to the development and production of new children’s content since receiving additional funding.

Search ACTF

No results